an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Beached

Today Boy had his last swim lesson for a while as we have decided to stop them for a while. Basically he does not really enjoy them and neither of us like getting up and out of the house for the 8am lesson. We will have to find a different Saturday morning activity to do at a more respectable time. Typically today he quite enjoyed it.

Once home it was time to wave Wife off who is spending the weekend with friends. Not long after we had a panic to get Girl to her swimming with a Boy who would not get in the buggy. On the way I realised that I had forgotten to do Girl's swim hair so we dived in the chemists for some hair bobbles. A sucsessful swim later with only a few hair rearrangements during we were back home for a hot cheesy wrap. Boy and I got some cream cakes earlier which both little ones rejected so I did the Dad thing and finished them off.

Then it was time to hit the sunshine so we headed to the beach coffee van. Once there and refreshed I asked the little ones if they were ready to move on. Boy responded quickly with a "NO!" and Girl clearly had his back. I even gave the option of seeing one of his favorite girls but he just refused to budge. So I got myself another coffee.

No sooner had I had my first sip did someone come along and sit next to us with a big dog. Boy looked at the dog and then at me (as I took this picture), shouted out his special girls name and was off to the buggy. I told Girl we were off and asked her to put her shoes on. She went to sit down to do it and I just managed to stop her sitting on my steaming coffee by shouting "NO,NO,NO,NO,NO,NO,NO,NO". On my last NO I realised the whole beach was suddenly quiet and was looking at me like I was a nutter. I am pretty much used to this reaction now, it happens a lot, but we still legged it along the front.

Once through a swarm of bugs we headed to the safety of the park for fun with friends and water and then home for a premade dinner. We ate a bit late meaning bathtime was fraught and so getting out of the bath both little ones went into melt down and took me with them. However I somehow pulled myself together and then pulled them together one at a time and then we were back on track. Girls promise of prizes for quietness at bedtime worked wonders as she was silent until sleep meaning Boy went off without distraction.

Downstairs at half eight to listen to Bruce the cat moan at me. Well I can't expect quiet can I?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.