an image of teamdel

By teamdel

On the pitch

After a night where the little ones spelt really well and I didn't we were up and out to the car booty. As usual we peered through the gap in the gate at Fratton Park to look at the pitch, but this time there were children playing on it.

After some investigation and a chat with the security man we found out that the football club had hosted a camping sleep over on the pitch last night. After a little more chat I got the guard to let us in and on the pitch for pictures.

Girl has wanted to see inside the stadium for ages so was really pleased to be there and Boy just liked watching the other children playing football. On the way out we thanked the guard and chatted about the problems the club is in. He was very chatty, nice and helpful especially considering he has not been paid for the last month.

The car boot was rammed and much bigger than usual but still full of the same old rubbish. Still, a promise is a promise so we perused the booty for a reward for Girls bedtime good behaviour. After a few more purchases we popped home to prepare a picnic to have on the beach with friends. The picnic was great but the sun was misleading meaning we have all come home a little pinker than when we left. I think Boy may have got too much sun as he went a bit wild on the beach.

On the way home we met Wife fresh from her trip away. The little ones were so excited to see her and as expected it was not long till the little ones were charging at home undoing all her de-stress from her weekend away.

Bedtime went well again though as I got Boy off again, though shortly after he was asleep I could hear banging from next door. This went on for a long time until there was a knock on our door. Our neighbours son was there looking quite panicked. His Mum was in the bathroom and was not responding to calls or bangs. He said she was a deep sleeper but this was not normal. I went in aswell and bang and shouted too. He had looked through the window above and seen that her head was out of the water but was now scared that there was no response to all our bangs and shouts.

I went and fetched some tools, at which point I realised I had lost my crowbar. Still with a brick chisel and heavy mallet in my hand I went back in. As I did I could hear the relief of the son as his Mum responded to him. She had just been having a little nap. Clearly she is a heavier sleeper than anyone could have imagined. I was just glad everyone was ok and that I did not have to scare the life out of her smashing through the door Jack Nicholson style.

We told the Boy to give his Mum a big hug and have that wee he was desperate for, the poor lad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.