atoll

By atoll

Inelastic Water

You will have to forgive me a bit of post-rationalised blipping tonight as I had held off photographing anything all day, knowing I was going to the excellent Knutsford SciBar talk tonight at the Angel. I had blithely assumed there would be loads of blipping potential, but sadly the light inside was dim and my few photos hopeless.

I stumbled upon this monthly 'Science in a Bar' thing quite recently, it being part-funded by the British Science Association. In the sessions "a leading scientist attends and talks for 30 minutes on his topic", and supposedly in layman terms.

Unfortunately, no one had told this to Dr Jichen Li from Manchester University, who was speaking on WATER - Weird or What?. Dr Li had started very well by talking about the interaction of water with biomolecules and the potential global benefits, but by the time he reached his conclusions about inelastic neutron scattering of so-called IE water, I am afraid I was a bit lost. Very interesting though, and am in total awe of people like Dr Li.

Anyway, back at home and wondering what on earth to blip, the only half-decent photo I had was this badly composed shot of the listed Ruskin Recreational Rooms taken on my walk to the pub.

What possible connection between this and IE Water could there be I thought...when Eureka! Google to the rescue: Implausible as it seems, built in honour of John Ruskin, The Ruskin Rooms were at one time a Fire Station and were also linked on Drury Lane to both Tannery and Chinese Laundry - ha ha, water, water everywhere.

Completely tenuous I know (and probably not of the inelastic variety), but good enough for a desperate man!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.