atoll

By atoll

The Laver Lamp

Well I didn't know about it at the time, but this could have been my victory breakfast yesterday morning had the football not imploded so - Bacon and Eggs with Laverbread. My friend Malcolm (he of my earlier Hwyl Dda blip) had very kindly dropped off a fresh supply of this Welsh seaweed breakfast delicacy - and which had been brought up from Wales by some of his relatives visiting for the weekend. Only problem was that on Sunday night we were out, so he left it at our lovely next door neighbour Anne Crumpsy for us to collect later. Good plan you might think, but as sweet as this kind old lady is, her house is a hot bed of City Blue-itis.... Thanks a lot Malc! ...Try as I might (and as much as I wanted it) eating more humble pie was just not on my menu for Monday.

Anyway, Anne came round yesterday and kindly dropped it off before I could summon up the courage to pop round myself. She was gracious in victory, so suppose she is not off my Christmas card list just yet. She had better watch herself though.

Anyway, breakfast this morning just had to be a Laverbread fry-up, as I was sure it would not last long (even dead fresh it looks decidedly dodgy and something like the brown-greenish henna paste you see being applied on tattoos and hair). It has a consistency of thick sticky wallpaper paste with a rich ozone smell of the sea. Not to everyones taste thats for sure!

Anyway, sorry I know I am no food photographer, and even broke my egg in the rush to scoff it, but at least my trusty Fairy Light was there to cast some magic light at least in our gloomy north east facing kitchen.

In case anyone dosn't know, Laverbread (welsh name bara lafwr) is Purple Laver seaweed manually harvested from the beach and cooked down into a thick gloopy paste.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.