Mount Grey

Mount Grey also known as Maukatere, meaning 'floating mountain'. Maori believed spirits of the dead left from the summit on the long journey to Cape Reinga, the top of the North Island. Mount Grey is named after Sir George Grey, the governor and Preimer between 1845 and 1879. The Waikuku Estuary is in the foreground.

The beach and clouds were beckoning as I was driving home after my hair appointment - the sky was rolling with clouds. With my poncy hair do, Hubby and I headed to the beach, gosh it was good to be back on familiar terriority.

It was warm, even from this spot which is quite barren and the wind normally whistles through, where I have stood and shivered in rain and such stormy conditions, today all was calm. The clouds continued to roll through in all directions. There was a fishing boat trawling quite close to shore behind me and an older couple quietly walking their dog. The tide was coming in and the waves quite big, bad weather on the way I think.

So no experiments today, just a landscape of some time spent at the beach. I smiled at the response to yesterday's image, it was fun to create, you all loved the colours and most of you liked the blur, thanks for you words, stars and favs - just a little bit of fun :)

An early blip today, tea to sort out and hopefully the last of the backblips will be up tomorrow or Thursday. Your've all been so kind following our West Coast adventure, I know life is busy for all of us and appreciate those who have taken the time to take a peek :)

Hope your all doing well - hump day tomorrow making the weekend that little bit closer :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.