Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Chicken Wings!

That's what provoked this exciting scene from the boys' cage this afternoon! A packet of chicken wings, gently roasted, some of the meat removed for human use in a pie, then the remains and the bones taken upstairs to be given to the rodent family!

Sleeping ratties abandoned their ratpiles, hammocks emptied, and everyone came to see what the delicious smell was about. Most dined on this floor (the "upstairs" of the cage) although a few decided that they preferred to take their treats down the tube to the "downstairs" floor!

As for me, I took it easy. I felt terribly guilty about letting people down (I was supposed to have spent today at the London Pet Show, helping out on the NFRS stand), but knew that I had to stop. I spent most of the day on the sofa, sleeping or resting. Hopefully stopping sooner rather than pushing on will mean that I regain my energies and balance sooner rather than later.

The Wonderspouse said he could see that I needed to stop and said he would have been tempted to stop me going anyway!

So it was just a quiet day at home in the end.

Oh, and in case you're wondering, yes, the girls got chicken too! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.