Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Wonderspouse Slamming!

We slept late. Very late. We were woken by the vet ringing up to say Smudge's ashes were back!

We called in briefly at a cake sale in the village, held by our neighbour to raise money for the hospice where her brother (who was the same age as me) died of cancer last year, then the Wonderspouse came home to cook breakfast and I went to the vets' to collect Smudge's ashes.

Then the day seemed to vanish. Despite sleeping in I still felt exhausted and rather jittery.

We drove down to Swindon, where the Wonderspouse was taking part in a "Poetry Slam" - a sort of competition where people recite their poems and get judged - he was very pleased to get through to the semi-final!

After dropping him off at the venue I did a little shopping (including getting myself a packet of crisps and a bottle of pop for supper from Aldi), then I sat and listened to quite a lot of rather strange poetry.

By the time I got home my head had that sort of fizzy/wuzzy feeling that meant I could keep on pushing and end up either high or low!

I knew it was time to stop, so sent a text absenting myself from what I had planned for the next day, then fell asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.