Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A wondrous creature...

I have been hoping to see one of these in the wild (and alive) and today was my lucky day!  This is a Nine-banded Armadillo, the only species of armadillo found in North America.  I believe this one was a youngster because it was quite a bit smaller than the dead one I saw recently.  This may also explain why it was out foraging in broad daylight - armadillos being nocturnal.

I was out at Honeymoon Island St. Park this morning - hoping to see some gopher tortoise (yes, I did!) and maybe a snake (no luck).  I was hunkered down near the trail snapping shots of a warbler when I heard a rustling in the grass ...and looked over to see this strange and amazing creature.  Armadillos have extremely poor eyesight and hearing, so I don't think it knew I was there.  At one point, it wandered too close for me to focus.  Now, I know that some of you may think of armadillos as pests (and I realize that they can be) but I think they are truly wondrous creatures and I am thrilled to have seen one.

Now, as things always seem to go - after I saw the armadillo, I also saw not one, but TWO Gopher tortoise, and a pair of Great Horned Owls!  Gopher tortoise are on the Threatened list for most of the US so it's quite special to see them.  And owls...well, is there ever an owl sighting that doesn't make your heart pound?  It was a tough choice today...but I know that I am unlikely to see an armadillo in daylight again, so it had to be the 'dillo.  

If you'd like to see two more 'dillo shots, plus a catbird, a gopher tortoise and the pair of owls Click here to view first five shots on Flickr  (I'm not sure how links work on our new and improved Blipfoto sight, so bear with me!

And speaking of Blip ... I think the new sight looks very slick and cool!  I've not yet been able to explore all of it, but I do like what I've seen thus far.  And, if I'm not mistaken, members now have five hearts to give each day - yay!  

Hubs is having a grand time with his family in Alabama - so glad he is able to spend this time with his mom.  

And, hey people - if my count is correct...eight more sleeps until Christmas!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.