Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Spoiled for Choices...

That sums up the day.  But, ultimately, I had to go with a shot of the American White Pelicans because I am fascinated by them.  They started showing up here not long after I moved and while most of them have continued to move south into Central America for the winter, there are some who will stay here in FL until spring.  And today I happened across about 100 of them in a little lagoon at Fort DeSoto - this is the closest I've seen them (still far enough away to need Big Daddy and some cropping.)  I sat myself in the sand and just watched.  Soon I was joined by another photographer and we passed the time chatting and snapping shots.  We got to see them working cooperatively to "herd" the fish, making it easy to scoop them up.  Unlike the brown pelicans, who dive, white pelicans scoop.  

Anyway, this isn't the best photo, but it shows part of the flock and also a brown pelican for comparison.  I posted 10 other pictures starting HERE on FLickr.  Several other peli's, a cool shot of some Nanday Parakeets doing synchronized eating, and my favorite wading bird, the Reddish Egret, doing his crazy fish dance.  Like I said...spoilt for choices.

Thank you for all the hearts and stars on my armadillo yesterday - I'm somewhat surprised at how popular he was!  Apparently, I'm not the only one who finds them fascinating and .. well, cool!  

I think Hubs is going to head back tomorrow - he's not sure yet, but leaning towards coming home.  It will be a long drive for him and he won't get home until well after dark tomorrow ... so I'll have to entertain myself with some wildlife during the day... Hm, sure would be nice to find a spoonbill...

I'm still figuring out how the new Blip works, but I do like how easy it is to comment now!  

Be well, good people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.