Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eyes of Blue...

Firstly, Hubs is due home in about an hour - yay!  It always feels lonely when he is away, so I'm very happy to have him home again - and just in time for Christmas next week!

I had a nice 1.5 mile walk at Lake Seminole this morning - Big Daddy and I.  We saw some interesting things (gators, ducks, wading birds, and a lot of unfortunate fish being gobbled by everyone else).  I watched about 50 cormorants and several pelicans pursuing a school of fish across the lake - fish were jumping out of the water and birds were scooping them up with reckless abandon.  A bit too far out for good pictures, but it was interesting to watch.

This afternoon I headed up to Sand Key Park in Clearwater, usually a very birdy place - today, it was remarkable devoid of birds, although I did get a very nice close up of a night heron taking a snooze.  Back to Boca Ciega for a quick walk and look-see which is where I took this.  This was one of a pair of double-crested cormorants sitting on the bank, snoozing and preening.  I did just a tiny crop on this and otherwise left it alone - the afternoon light was lovely and those eyes...well, sometimes you can't improve on nature, can you?

I posted nine other random shots from today starting HERE on Flickr with a little color pop foolishness

The weather is supposed to be glorious for the next two days, so hoping I can drag Hubs out for some adventures.  Although, after driving 12 hours today, he's not going to want to get in a car again for a few days!  

Dinner tonight is a simple Greek pasta salad with lots of veggies.  And a little crusty bread to go with it - washed down by some nice NZ savignon blanc. (Yes, it's pretty much the only white wine we drink - really love the way NZ treats those grapes.)

Hey, six more sleeps until Christmas (5 in the southern hemisphere...)  No pressure.

cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.