Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Peace...

A tiny bit of a stretch, but the closest I have to white doves of peace are these common mourning doves. Mourning doves (Zenaida macroura) are known for their namesake mournful cooing, and for their woefully bad nest-building skills. In fact, when I think about how bad they are at nest building, it explains why they always sound so mournful... Just sayin'.

Mourning doves are a common year-round bird here in NJ and they are often found under the feeders with the sparrows, snarfing up seeds. When I contrast them to some of the more energetic birds at our feeders, I have to confess that they aren't really my favorites. Not that I don't like them...they just aren't as much fun as, say, a titmouse!

For you titmouse fans out there, here is today's Inquisitive Titmouse. And the funny shot of the day? Well, it had to be This one

Thank you for the many kind comments, stars and hearts on my mono landscape yesterday - I was very surprised that it made the Spotlight page, since landscapes aren't my strong suit. Thank you.

Very busy day - seems like I've got a million little things that are on deadline at the moment. Very little camera time today, which is unfortunate since every time I looked out, there were all kinds of interesting birds. Oh well, another day.

Is it really only six more sleeps???

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.