Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

One Tree

I've been waiting for the perfect snowfall to take this shot and yesterday's met all the criteria. Plus, it was wicked cold, so the only footprints in the snow were a single set of deer tracks when I got there this morning. I used my D90, the 28-300 lens and a polarizing filter. HERE is the original image.. I have photographed this particular spot in all seasons except under snow - so this rounds out my seasonal "one tree."

On the whole, I wasn't all that happy with the results, so I decided to do a bit of tweaking and playing. I used an infrared treatment on the image, then applied a soft vignette. I did another version with a holga-ish treatment I don't usually fiddle much with my images, but it was kind of fun today.

And if you can't get through a day without a blue jay, here's the one that nearly got away.

Several of you asked to see the photo that is published in this months' Birds & Blooms Magazine so HERE it is!

Thank you for sending yesterday's grackle to the Spotlight. He wasn't around to share the good news with, but I'm sure he'd be thrilled. Hard to know with grackles sometimes.

Had another hawk hunting in the yard today - apparently unsuccessful. When I looked out, he was sitting in the cherry tree with about 20 small birds frozen in place in the dense branches below him. Nature is fascinating.

I'm still trying not to get hubs' cold - I'm ignoring the sore throat. And the runny nose. In four days I am going to be someplace warm and sunny. Can't have a cold. Period.

Seven more sleeps...

Happy Holidays,

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.