Palm Jebel Ali

This is a man made island in Dubai.  I spotted its easily recognisable shape from the plane window as we were flying back from New Delhi, on our way to a stopover and change of flights in Doha.

It seems that two or three of these palm shaped islands were planned in Dubai.  One, Palm Jumeirah (the smallest), is - I believe - more or less complete, with hotels, resorts and residential buildings.  However the project for these islands was beset by difficulties - mainly financial as building started in 2001, took longer than anticipated, and was then hit by the world recession. The basic infrastructure of this island, Palm Jebel Ali, is more or less complete, but no development has started and there is no time scale for it to start.

It is an interesting sight from the air, though.

Back blipped after my return to the UK as I had limited editing facilities with me and intermittent access to wifi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.