Kendall is here

By kendallishere

"In great shape for her age!"

That's what the doctor told the nurse after examining me (and she whispered it to me as I was leaving).  

The Fremont Bridge, seen from the orthopedist's office window soon after dawn, is also in pretty good shape for her age. 

I'll have arthroscopic surgery in January to remove the torn bit of meniscus, but the good news is that it should be a simple procedure, and if all goes well, I'll be back to speed by March. That should give me a couple of months to get fitter than I've ever been before traveling to the UK to meet Blippers, scramble around on ancient rocks, explore cathedrals, and whatever else I can find to do. 

Interestingly, we can't schedule the procedure till the insurance company authorizes it. Physicians have to get permission from insurance companies before they can do anything. Have I ever complained about our medical system? More to come, no doubt, when the bills start coming in.

I have a piece of writing I need to finish by Sunday, so I'm turning comments off and will be absent till I get this done. Thanks to the many people who left commiserations, sympathies, and encouragements. I am cheered by your warmth, and I'm deeply grateful for this community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.