Miss Willmott's Ghost.....

.... or Eryngium giganteum.   I've had this struggling in the garden for about three years, but this year it has surprised me by sprouting flowers.  I have to say I don't quite know what all the fuss is about - and I don't think I'd bother to plant any more.  Structurally it's very pretty, but the flowers are very pale grey/blue, and I think in this climate we need more colour against the very bright light at this time of year.

Be that as it may, the bees adore it.  This one looks bedraggled because I've just been watering the garden and it got a bit wet.

I was going to include a bio of Miss Ellen Willmott because she's such a fascinating person, but it might be better if you visit her Wikipedia entry, if you are interested.

I have, so far, tried to link Ellen Willmott to her entry in Wikipedia 5 times.  If it doesn't stick this time, I give up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.