My Long Term Memory

By marinakari

Marin Joulukalenteri -21st door

We Finns count down the 24 days before Christmas by using Advent Calendars.
I haven't got one for myself this year, so I decided open my own Advent Calendar here in Blip. 
So today I open another door of Marin Joulukalenteri:



Three nights until Christmas


Sauna is also big part Christmas tradition In Finland. We have sauna in every home and cottage, also in flats. In some workplaces too. You have to understand how unseparate part of our culture sauna is. 
My family warm Christmas Sauna evening at 23th. Usually all Christmas preparations has made in that point, long distance family has arrived and its time to start celebrate Christmas.   
So, in sauna we wash last sweatdrops gained from cleaning house and running around like headless chicken for a least a week time. We sit in hot (+70C), dark room and relax. We may have class of cold beer or soda in our hand which we sip slowly. We could listen christmas music if we choose. When it gets too hot, we can step outside in cold snow and see how our body steam in cold.
Than back to hot sauna.
You can imagine how relaxing it is.

Here is nice article about Christmas sauna tradition if you are interested.

Thank you for your comments and starring My Girl portrait from yesterday. I appreciate a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.