ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Cromarty Firth.

Another melancholy note today: a Bond-operated Super Puma (yes another - they're developing quite the name for themselves) came down 25 miles off Aberdeen this afternoon. It was a controlled ditch, and the 12 passengers and 2 crew got into a life raft safely. The RNLI went out for the rescue but unfortunately M was too far away to help in the operation. My thoughts go out to the poor men on board who must have had to go through the most terrifying ordeal I can think of. When things like this happen in your own city, it brings the situation home: I hate the thought of M flying in those deathtraps twice a month. It doesn't help to know that a car accident is much more likely - because not only have I to worry about car accidents, but also for a whole set of other circumstances that some people don't have in their lives. These things upset me greatly.

Luckily M is very good at taking my mind off these things and making me smile... Tonight we drove out to Rosemarkie after work to have a weekend's camping away from the city; I'm so looking forward to the next couple of days. We got an absolutely bizarre welcome to the campsite:

M: "Hello, we were looking to camp for the night?"
Owner: "Are you members?" (the campsite's website said non-members would be welcome)
M: "No..."
Owner: "Well... It's not going to be cheap."
M: "How much is not cheap?"
Owner: "Well... £8.50 each, so you're looking at £17..."

Luckily M and I could just about stretch to a whole £17; and I'd say we did quite a good job of keeping straight faces too! I think the owner was a bit of a chancer, as when we came back with the cash, he then tried to tell us he'd given us the wrong rate, and it was £24... We just said nothing, and he said he'd "let us away with it this time". Once we'd had a good giggle about the owner, M and I set up our tent and M cooked us some lovely burgers which we ate with potato salad and lettuce; yum yum. As the light dropped, the first spatters of rain were just beginning, but the tent kept us warm and dry and our two-person sleeping bag was super-cosy. Great start to our weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.