Christmas colour

Slept late this morning; as Mr H said when I saw him late in the morning I must have needed it.Drifted around a little and then we got our act together and went to daughter C's home where she, the boys and daughter J were waiting for us. It was almost midday, so a glass of celebratory fizz was in order along with home made (by S) mince pies and (by C) gingerbread men etc.

We then exchanged gifts. The boys chose an insect zapper for me, and instructed me that it was to be brought to the beach house and used on the mosquitoes. According to the packaging you get 100 points for a mosquito and only 5 for a cockroach. The packaging also warned that it is not a toy and should not be given to children. I have a dangerous weapon.

My daughters combined and gave me two photography books. One called Art in Nature. The photographer, David Rennie has dealt with bipolar disorder all his adult life, and this book shows his creativity and the results he has gained when driven by the highs. Lovely photos of birds in a large wetland area close to Perth.

The second by Sam Abell (The Life of a Photograph) is rather more instructional, as he shows how he has responded over the years to the lesson he had from his father (an amateur photographer of some skill); to "seek the setting". Look for what will make a good photograph and wait for the right time. 

Late this afternoon, we packed the car and headed here to the beach house (with the insect zapper, which looks like a small tennis racquet) where we will more or less base ourselves for the next few weeks. I can commute those days on which I am working (mostly).

I went down the steps to Southend, Snells Beach, where I saw many herons, and got one or two nice photos of herons posing in the water, or flying away, and also one only slightly blurred photo of a pair of masked lapwings flying off.

However, the full floral beauty of a pohutukawa won the choice for a Christmas Day blip. I hope everyone has had a happy and relaxing day with those they love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.