Early Runners

The Wither Hill Farm Park called this morning.  I have not been up there for weeks as I have been focussing on early dog walks and we are not permitted to take dogs into the Farm Park.  So I was walking before 6.am and spent way too much time on the hills.  This is because, in the first instance I get lost in my photography and the second is because I kept meeting up with friends I had not seen for a while. 
Despite it being Christmas Day the tracks were very busy with both walkers and runner in abundance.  The day promised to be hot so folk were out early to beat the heat on the hills.  I suspect quite few were getting some healthy exercise in preparation of a day of unhealthy eating and drinking.
Keith and I enjoyed Christmas lunch with our good friends, Rachel and Richard.  We be-moaned he fact that none of our collective children could be with us this Christmas.  We ate cold turkey (sounds great eh?) roasted vegetable salad, new potatoes and a fresh green salad.  A variety of desserts and fresh fruit followed.   It was far too hot to eat outdoors, even under shady trees.  Blenheim had the highest temperature in the country of 29C. 
As we drove home we saw lots of people cooling off in the Wairau River near the Spring Creek village bridge.  The water looked very inviting.  Teatime found Keith, Fergus the dog and me up at the Taylor Dam having a picnic tea under shady trees beside the lake.  Ham sandwiches, homemade Christmas cake and fresh cherries.  Yum.
I wish all our Blip friends a very happy and peaceful Christmas with family and other loved ones. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.