Lakeside Greens

Christmas Eve and it is shaping up to be typically hot Marlborough summer weather.  A brilliant clear blue sky all day and 29 C.  Town was busy from early on and on the outskirts of town cars were streaming in and out of Jones Berry Farm.  It seemed like half of Blenheim was there to either “Pick your Own” raspberries and boysenberries or like me, to buy them ready picked.
Fairly early in the morning I drove up to the Taylor Dam with Fergus the dog to revel in the cool green shade of the trees and greenery surrounding the lake.  In contrast to winter and spring the greens are gloriously rich and verdant with tall bulrushes (known as “Raupo”) fringing the edges of the water.  There is a pair of black swans swanning around on the lake supervising their brood of five tiny fluffy cygnets.  Alas I needed a DSLR and long lens to capture this enchanting little family.
I wish all my Blip Friends from all parts of the world a merry Christmas and a happy healthy and productive New Year.  I wish for a more peaceful world and my thoughts are with the lonely, the sick and needy this festive season.  Blessings to you all….. Arohanui  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.