Appreciation

By Appreciation

Fields of Gold

I love the yellow fields and have wanted to get in amongst the rapeseed for some time. Today I knew exactly the spot. This reddish barn and trees are always an eyecatching sight. I wanted to get down low, but the field was incredibly squealchy.

I emerged from the field sneezing big, huge, from the bottom of your boots sneezes. They stayed with me until I reached my destination, whereupon I hit the polished floors. The combination of mud caked to my shoes and polished floors had me, Mr Bean like, doing some kind of comtemporary ballet through the shop! Thankfully I had a tutu in my pocket and quickly put it on so as not to look a complete fool.

My mother today was looking for 'mags' or so her list said. We looked through the various magazines whilst she contemplated which she wanted;
'I don't usually like these things, I prefer a book' she said ' I wonder which one I wanted, maybe there is something in one that I wanted to read - what do you think?'

Of course I wasn't able to offer any wisdom. Instead she opted for a puzzle book certain that was what was on her mind. On the way home she remembered 'mags' was short for magnifying sunglasses. Some things are clear as mud.

She also commented on my girl, whom she has caught sight of on a bus recently.

'She walked on, all tall, upright, poised and graceful, and her teeth, they are so straight and perfect, I was just thinking, that's my girl'.

Aw, thought I, how lovely to have her bursting with pride, until she continued;

' She looked like one of those ladettes - you know the ones who start off rough and end up like ladies?'

I'm sure there was a compliment in there somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.