madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Hard Frost

Another frosty am but a real hard frost this time , which remained all day on those areas not in the sun. Took a walk in the village in the morning, gloves I bought ideal for manipulating camera - useless in keeping hands warm! So many people out and about and very chatty - having a camera and sitting on the frosty ground in the same spot for ages just invites comments! Everywhere looked so beautiful in the crisp morning light - the colour were simply mesmerising and breathtaking - I really didn't know where to point my camera next and during the course of the morning I went from large landscape, to detail, to macro and back again! 
On my return, hands now warmed up - I came into mobile range and received a text from my teaching colleague who left half a term after me, confirming our meeting later in the day - I had forgotten! Rushed home, tidied and washed!
We went to Cotehele and had lunch and caught up! We were the last people left in the cafe by the quay! We went up to the house but it had just closed and it was damn cold, so came home and chatted some more! She did give some useful advice re warming up hands - swing your arms like windmills! Just clenching and rubbing your hands is ineffectual - as I have found out!
Reliving how things had been at our place of work reminded me of how bad things had been, and unfortunately things have got even worse since we left. It still makes me angry at the damage done to the children and staff. Hearing her talk of her new place made me think about the skills and expertise I have and am not using - part of me feels as if its a waste and makes me feel guilty. But it is my past and honestly I really have no inclination to return to it in any capacity.
I forgot to put my card back in the camera so could not take any further shots - which was a relief as I have a compulsion to take photographs otherwise and it was a nice break from that! Plus I am walking barrel shaped Lucy tomorrow so can take her up and get the shots I saw this afternoon - going to be another hard frost tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.