Kirk Fell

Despite the number of hours in bed and many of those good sleeping hours, I didn't get out of the van until just gone 9am.

Little Dog had a lovely memory foam pillow under her bed last night courtesy of my mum and, after wrapping her up like a pasty in her blanket, she too was reluctant to wake up this morning.

However, wake we did and venture out we did.

After my thoughts yesterday, I have concluded that Wasdale in winter is also an intimidating place on your own and potentially tricky with a dog. I need to know it better in the summer & see what's possible with Little Dog before I explore much more of it in winter.

After pondering the alternatives, I went up the front of Kirk Fell and off the craggy back down to Black Sail pass and round.  There was no real snow covering until about 600m but it felt very wintery on top and we had to be quite careful on the decent off the back.

Dropping down into the green and reds of the lower slopes was beautiful and actually had a spring-like feel in the light breeze and slight warmth of the sun.  A waterfall was dashing down in front of us, clouds were dusting the tops and blue sky was providing a gorgeous backdrop to the mountains.  I did feel quite emotional.

After a good journey home, I'm now writing from the bath and don't feel too inclined to get out yet!


Oh, and my Magical Mystery Tour (MMT) was a trip to see Paddington Bear at the cinema which was fun and thoroughly enjoyable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.