Did You Know It Comes In Colors?

This grove of bamboo made me want to go home and plant out the entire backyard in tall thin trees. There are hundreds of plants on the hillside at Hakone Gardens in Saratoga, and the effect is breathtaking as you come around the corner on the path. I've always thought of bamboo as a horrible invasive pest, but now that I've fallen in love I'll have to change my tune.

We took two very different and very wonderful walks on this sunny lovely day--first exploring Villa Montalvo in Saratoga (a former private estate converted into an art center and park) and the aforementioned Hakone Gardens (another estate now open to the public and recognized by the National Trust for Historic Preservation). Just another example of what happens when you veer slightly off course for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.