A simple day

I had a bit of trouble focusing on anything today. But when I look around I did get a few things done.

I also had my final doc appointment for my hand. I nearly canceled but since it is too swollen to wear a ring I thought it best I follow through. For no more than a 2 minute consultation it cost $44. Nice work if you can get it. (And that was ACC subsidised).

On the up side I can go away for the weekend knowing the swelling may take up to 6 months to resolve, if it does indeed resolve. There may be scar tissue in the tendon or tendon sheath that may remain a legacy. But it's not deep seated infection waiting for a public holiday and remote location before it gallops away again.

I've pottered, done food shopping, filled the green bin before the rubbish was collected, gave both gardens a thorough soaking and cursory tidy up.

It's turned ugly in the hills so tomorrows planned peak bagging expedition is cancelled. Instead I'll head up on the Port Hills with a mate for a few hours. We'll do the tracks directly on the fault that ruptured in the Feb 2011 quake. It will be interesting to see how the land looks.

I might just get a duster and cleaning cloth out as well tomorrow but I have a funny feeling I'll end up mucking around with gear for my weekend trip.

Then before I know it my late afternoon guests will have arrived and I'll have to drink craft beer and nibble on smoked trout ;-)

A year ago we were preparing for Mum's funeral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.