What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Rounder!

Now today was a good day for rounders :-)

Sunny throughout, with just that hint of cloud you need to cool things down, the ground in a nice, soft state from the rain but dry enough that (when have to play in your work jeans) you don't get completely covered in mud if you fall over. It's a shame it wasn't a Zoology match (I'll miss that as travelling to Oxford on Thursday) but it was great fun to play with the CA team. Their opponents were Mills & Reeves, a law firm based just beside my office, but only a few of them were able to make it* so we had another mixed game - mostly for fun, though one person may have taken it too seriously (those who know the team can probably guess who...)

There wasn't a great deal of success for me - only one rounder and then caught out - but I did put three rounders onto Emma's score as a substitute runner (should have had four but I wussed out on a dropped catch). Wasn't that good in the field either - the ball wasn't flying as far as I thought so I missed out on a couple of catches and I also dropped the ball twice when scrambling for pickups off the ground - a disadvantage to not being able to slide in, scoop it up and launch it! Bright side it did mean I could take photos instead - used the 'panorama' function on the new camera for this, it's stitched it together quite nicely!

Post rounders it was time for a birthday film & games night at my mate's house, moved to Wednesday because I couldn't do Thursday (and then I turned up late as well!). Lots of fun watching some 'South Park' and then playing 'Mario Party 4' and 'Smash Brothers', curtailed only by the realisation that it was Wednesday and the neighbours probably didn't want to listen to us whooping all night!


*As other Cambridge Blippers will know there is a stupid amount of roadworks near the train station at the moment - i.e. my office & the Mills&Reeves office is at Ground Zero for travel hell, it wasn't that surprising a lot of them had to drop out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.