Photogen

By Photogen

Lilies at 'The Bridge at Bougival'

A day for indoor photography and, with some lilies to hand, I positioned the vase in front of a print of a Monet oil painting that has hung on my wall for as long as I can remember, but I'd forgotten its title. An internet search of paintings on the wonderful Monet Gallery website  revealed it was 'The Bridge at Bougival' (1870). See http://www.claudemonetgallery.org/The-Bridge-At-Bougival.html
What an inspiration his impressionist paintings are! Bougival is a district not  far from Versailles - maybe I'll visit it one day! Alternatively, I could visit Manchester where the original painting is located - that is Manchester, New Hampshire, USA! Incidentally in 2008 Monet's 'Le Pont du chemin de fer a Argenteuil' sold for £20.09 million in New York. Some going - another bridge with trains passing over the Seine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.