Picaday Anyday

By Picaday

Some Favourite Things

Today I'm still catching up on knitting for the upcoming shows so I wasn't really sure what to photograph as my blip photo.
However, I was thinking of some of the things that have either inspired me or helped increase my knowledge of knitting, crofting and sheep, so decided to set up the above 'still life' to see how it looked.
To let you know a little about each thing I will take them one at a time from left to right, a few words for each.
1. Real Shetland Yarns, a book in which I have a story published about my father and grandfather, both weavers of Shetland rugs. My father worked exclusively in natural un-dyed Shetland colours and his designs were instantly recognizable. I was one of 40 runners-up and we recently all met up at the book launch and received a complimentary copy of this very interesting and colourful book. It was a fab night!
I must just tell you this too. As many times as I have seen the photo of my father which is published in the book, I had never before realized that on the wall of the weaving shed were the words (Chad style!!) "Wot? No rugs?"
My sister and I really laughed when we saw that. We could just imagine dad doing that.
2. A very old pattern for knitted Fair Isle berets for children. It was humorous to note that in the pattern it doesn't say "instructions" but "recipe"!! I love that.
3. An Introduction to Keeping Sheep. A great little book just to browse and look up things. I was brought up on a croft and we did keep sheep then, but things have changed enormously since then and you can never have too much knowledge or expertise when it comes to animal husbandry.
4. This is a photo of my late father, a weaver, a knitter, a humorous story teller, baker of fine scones and pancakes, jam maker and overall great man.
5. Pattern for a Shetland cockle shell scarf.
6. The Dogs of Woodcutter Down by David Kennard. The book I'm reading at the moment and enjoying too. Makes me wish I had a sheepdog though. I have to run up the steep hill myself!!
OK, that's me for today. Hope I'm not boring you with all my little blip and pieces!
Take care as always.
PS The checked rug that is in the front of the photo I also won along with the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.