Last Sunset of 2014

It has been SO hard to choose a photo for today!  This morning I woke to a winter wonderland - another morning of heavy frost.  I found some new paths and I spent a couple of hours during sunrise walking around another lake only just discovered.  I took many pictures and it all seemed truly magical! 

But…I have a thing about the last sunset of the year and I was determined to post that as my blip for today, just as I did last year for my very first blipfoto!  

It was a picture that almost didn't happen.  

After the early morning freeze, the weather took a sudden warm turn and by 3pm it was cloudy and warm and the paths were back to their normal winter muddy mess.  I enjoyed the colourful sky in the first few minutes of our walk and then the clouds got thick and blocked any sign of the remaining sunset.  I even had a chosen place to sit - a recently fallen tree - to watch the sunset and it was pretty much a letdown.  But I won't complain - I do prefer the cold crisp weather of the last couple of days but it wasn't raining and the air still felt fresh.  I am just glad I have such beautiful places to walk and photograph and enjoy right on my doorstep.  

So 2014 is just about over!  Not the easiest of years for me, but looking back on all my blipfotos helps me to be thankful for the many blessings in my life.  It's good to look forward to a new year - it may be nothing more than a mere turning of the page on the calendar but it always feels good to start afresh and anticipate the blessings of the months ahead. 

Wishing you all a very Happy New Year in 2015!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.