Scribbler

By scribbler

A NEW YEAR'S EVE REFLECTION

December Challenge / Random / Reflection
Birds flying in to roost as daylight fades.


To me, on this last day of the year the word 'reflection' signifies deliberation. I'm drawn to ponder the previous 365 days and arrive at an accounting of things done and left undone, opportunities seized and missed.

I used to read my journals from the previous year on New Year's Day,
seeking perspective on how I was living my life, what to keep and what to change. Thus journals were my first idea for a blip, but I've done that a number of times. The sight of these birds flocking to a tree as the sun hastened toward the horizon brought to mind the phrase "chickens coming home to roost."

The original meaning of "chickens coming home to roost" can be traced back as far as Chaucer in The Parson's Tale, where it refers to bad deeds and wrongful words. But I learned from my spiritual director that an examination of conscience should include good deeds and kind words as well. I've done some things right and some things wrong, and they all have consequences. The chickens always come home to roost. Patanjali doesn't use that image, but really "chickens coming home to roost" is just another way of looking at karma, or the Biblical idea that bread cast upon the waters will return to you.  The seeds that are planted by our thoughts, words, and deeds will eventually, inevitably sprout.

The only way I know to get off this treadmill is through love and forgiveness. On the threshold of a new year, I wish for you and for myself that those we have wronged will forgive us and that we will forgive those who have wronged us, that we may find the grace to love those we find unlovable and that those who find us unlovable may find the grace to love us.


I'm glad to be bringing into the New Year the friendships I've found here.
I wish each of you a very happy and blessed 2015.

------------------
Sorry this is a day late. Will you forgive me for not thanking you earlier for your most kind New Year's wishes?

I edited this photo on my laptop, but despite repeated attempts over two days, New Blip refused to publish it, so I had to resort to the unedited version on my phone. My turn to forgive. Thank you, New Blip, for providing endless opportunities for spiritual growth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.