Welcome to 2015

Rory and I headed to Edinburgh late last night to welcome in the new year on Blackford Hill with a great view of the fireworks from the castle. I've only ever seen the fireworks on television before, and they're even more spectacular in person! I didn't take many photos; I was too in awe of what was happening to stare down a camera lens.

By the time we got to Selkirk, it was nearing 2 o'clock, so it was straight to bed for me. Up early-ish to see Dad and Jamie before they headed to Newcastle to the football. Mum, Kirsty, Rory and I were meant to be going to Edinburgh to climb Arthur's Seat, but Mum thought it would a bit of a wasted trip due to the weather. In the afternoon, Rory, Lee (Rory's Mum) and myself went for a walk around the Haining instead (Mum and Kirsty didn't want to come due to the pouring rain). It was a lovely and hilarious walk, despite the disgusting weather and mud. We even found money on the way back home!

Rory and I headed to mine after we'd changed from our soggy clothes and warmed up a little, as we'd promised mum that we would cook our chilli. The chilli went down a treat, although I will admit that Rory did the majority of the cooking. Mum has already made us promise to make it again when Dad and Jamie are in.

After a brief stop at Rory's Mum's house, we were on our way back to the cottage for the week. I've made my Goodreads challenge so 2015 is fully underway! I think we're having a lazy night as we've walked 3.5 miles and we're both shattered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.