Hunting

Rocking up to my usual spot to see the short-eared owls on a beautiful sunny day it didn't take long to realise the rest of Gloucestershire birders were doing the same thing. All lined up hunting with their lenses waiting for the  sun to drop and the owls come out for their supper....and they did.

I loved the moment - chilly, bright, rural, exciting, then thrilling to see when one came in the distance within camera range. Orange light with the sun sinking just gave it the edge.

Then you had the nerd with a camera who liked the sound of his own voice.  A barn owl landed within 20ft on the wall. Owls have ears - that's how  they hunt. This guy just kept on talking SO VERY loudly. What made him think that after all that wait we weren't going to try for a shot - unbelievable!!! Did he only go to zoos? The owl looked then cleared off and who would blame him, but the guy just kept on!! Totally oblivious. I was furious and not on my own with those sentiments. Many had come a very long way to see the owls and were gutted. I would add that in case you think I'm being a tad harsh that when I turned round to blow my nose he started looking down my camera lens to check my shots!! 

Lovely to see this short-eared owl hunting - such a thrill and when 3 more turned up I seriously didn't know where to point the lens. Any blippers within reach of Hawling should give it a go. It does take patience but is so worth it for the buzz.

MY hearts and stars aren't registering which is a shame - feeling a little disappointed with blip. - well they are now apparently :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.