atoll

By atoll

Wild Boars and Canapés

Following my previous Staffordshire Saxon Blip, tonight was the grand unveiling party of a first 9-foot high sculpture at The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery in Hanley. Mingling with the local MP, mayor and other dignitaries and guests (oh and me) were a Mercian tribe of Saxon re-enactment volunteers. I noticed some were drinking their complimentary wine from cow horns.

The sculpture was commissioned by the museum and created by local figurative sculptor Andy Edwards. Though it looks to be made from patinated bronze or copper, I understand it is a GRP cast of the clay original. Amazingly authentic detail, by all accounts, though if I am honest I think the boar fixed atop his helmet looks quite odd and slightly comical - and so undermines the serious intent.

Linked to the brilliant Staffordshire Hoard, this is a separate project, being led by local paper The Sentinel. Their ultimate plan is to develop a huge scaled-up version to be located near Trentham Gardens, just off Junction 15 on the M6.

See other unused blip photos of the Saxon on my Blipfolio and listen to Saxon musicians playing on Audioboo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.