Watchful

I woke a little before sunrise this morning. I had chosen to not pursue  a Sunday sunrise this year, having achieved one on 40 out of 52 weeks in 2014. Nevertheless, I took my camera and went to the cliff edge of our property and took a few photos of the lovely colours in the sky and in Kawau Bay.

Somewhat later I headed out on a run, going west from the village to the Mahurangi River (on the other side of the peninsula). Saw a hawk twice, and neither time was organised enough to get a photo. Near the top of a tree by a creek opening into the river I saw two Kawau tui (Little black shags) and one Kawau paka (Little Pied Shag); the latter was on a lower branch.

On the way back, I saw two adult pukeko with a young one they were clearly herding away from where I was on the road. This adult was watching me very closely, and the chick ran with head down out and away.

A day spent on doing things around the house before we head back to the City. We'll be there until Saturday when we will collect Tsuken and family and return for two work-free weeks.

I have added a couple of photos to blipfolio
Because I was awake at the time
A bit of processing on this one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.