Bay of the rising sun

Wanting a run before we came back to Auckland this morning (missing the traffic jams of yesterday as holiday-makers returned for work starting this morning), I set the alarm for half an hour before sunrise. As I walked up the street towards the top of the ridge, I caught sight of a most fantastic red-orange moon. Moon set was imminent, and it was being hit by the colours of the rising sun.

After getting a couple of shots, I carried on and then back down again to the water's edge at Snells Beach, and ran along Erceg's Way. Stopping regularly as the sunrise approached and the colours became richer.

I had got some good photos before and after this one, which I chose because it was the only one with a dog walker.

On 05 January 2013 I took a photo of the Big Omaha wharf at sunrise. It was the first in my Saturday Sunrise series for 2013.

On 05 January 2014 my blip was across the mudflats of Snells Beach, and it became the first of my Sunday Sunrise series for 2014.

Today being the 05 January 2015, maybe this will be the start of a Monday series?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.