Mudflats on fire

Or so it looks.

The first sunrise photo I've posted in 2014; on Sunday rather than Saturday. I have decided to not make myself wake early to catch the rising sun; if it happens it happens. Which it did this morning.

I spontaneously awoke at about 0530, and decided that I would go for a run rather than head back to bed. The colours in the sky were rather muted, and I thought I may get some photos of early birds at the water's edge. However, the water was a long way from the shore. A tractor towing a boat out to be launched needed to go so far out that it was little more than a speck to the naked eye.

On the way back home from Whisper Cove, the sun neared bursting above the horizon. This was my last photograph before the sun did burst into view. It was fully above the horizon (almost directly behind the small island - little more than a rock really) in only a couple of minutes.

Following consultation with S I have chosen this ahead of the couple of good shots of the risen sun, as I think this is more true to the colours I saw. From where I stood to take this, all the patches of water on the mudflats of the bay were awash with reflected colour. Dog walkers, and those who were walking alone or with company, all stopped to look and admire.

Later, over breakfast, I read in the Sunday newspaper a reprinted article from the Guardian advising us all to take a break from photography as it stops us from seeing and remembering things. I have noticed that some do see the sights through the viewfinder of their camera; I hope that by taking a photo to record what I see when I run, I am mostly seeing and only a little bit of recording.

Still, something to think on, perhaps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.