Challenging Jonny

As today on the ward began to wind down, I received a text from S to say that daughter C and her two boys were on their way to the beach house for a couple of days stay. Had I had any intention (or need) to stay late, there was now an excellent reason for not doing so. Fortunately there was no need, and I was away on the pleasant drive north.

It has been a beautifully clear day, with little wind, and blue cloudless skies. By 1000 am the temperature (I'm now told) was about 17 C. Certainly, it was well into the 20s by the time I got home in the early evening. So, with the tide almost fully out I invited the lads down to the beach. They knew that I wanted to get a blip, yet they enthusiastically agreed. (Later, they even encouraged me to go to the point and around to Snells Beach for some birds).

What a wonderful evening I have had!

Mr H and Young L and I walked down the steps to our beach enjoying a nice wee chat. Then they were straight out over the broad expanse of sand (and rock) to the water. Where (with their goggles on) they proceeded to throw handfuls of sand at each other. When Grandpa (ignorant of the goggles) said that this would end in sand in the eyes and tears, they gleefully informed me that it wouldn't! Some tears did eventuate (for a reason unknown), and I chose to distract them.

I suggested we go to the northern end of Algies Bay, through the shallows, to a rock with a pole on it. This photo is of Mr H running freely and with superb style to the rocks in the distance (foreshortened in this shot). The dog (and his mistress) were quietly meandering in the shallows, where we three spent an enjoyable time finding Sand Dollars and then Starfish.

I was so impressed with the speed with which the two boys worked out the sand patterns above the sand dollars. And the gentle way they handled them and put them back. Also their distress when we found in a small area a number of broken ones. Mr H then asked about the "other starfish" and after I had described these for Young L, he found one within a minute or two. After which we found more. Including one which looked as if it had been dragged by someone or something. Again they were a little upset. I was really touched with their concern for other beings.

We then headed back, and Mr H suggested we go on to the other end of our beach and into Snells Beach bay. "So you can get a blip" he said. Down there we saw a black-backed gull eating a fish (the boys went over to see at close quarters), and later Mr H found a marine gastropod which he brought home assuming that it was empty (we have since found it was still alive, and he wants to return it tomorrow).

S has then provided us with a lovely meal, enjoyed by everyone; the boys have had ice cream, and are readying for bed. I am posting this while Young L has his mummy reading stories, and Mr H and Granny (S) are playing Hobbit Monopoly (!!!!!)

I will sleep well tonight.

PS
Other shots in my blipfolio are:

White fronted tern
Dinner for Black-backed gull
Playing chase
Lucky shot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.