Sunset over Grey Lynn

I was viewing the sunset over Grey Lynn; the sun was setting behind the Waitakere Range. I was able to adjust the image slightly to give a feeling for the houses and businesses nearby.

My blip today is a lot later than I expected, because I waited for the sunset. I thought I had my photo when I took a lunch time walk. I went to the edge of Lake Pupuke adjacent to the hospital, and was very pleased with a couple of photos of a mallard duck, and another couple of some (large) Pied Shags (Karuhiruhi).

While I was seeing how best to present the one I chose, I saw that all the photos were noted as having been taken on May 03 2015. WHAT!!!! I know I'm a bit different but travelling into the future to get a photo for Blip is actually beyond me. 

So. I went to the settings of my new camera. Yes. I have finally decided that my trusted old Pentax ist-DS deserves to retire. I haven't been able to get the spot off the senser, and the difficulty with a 2GB SD card was about to recur. Earlier than expected as the one I had in became corrupted somehow.

I saw what Craig D has, and has said how happy he is with it. Went to the nearby Photo Warehouse, and they had one. Big and heavy. The young salesman, who is a sprinter and hurdler I discovered, showed me a recent model and unlike many other times, he clearly knew his Pentax. It is remarkably light. It's at the limit of what I would regard as okay for my hand; anything smaller and it would feel too small. 

After buying it and taking it home, I played a bit with it, including setting the date and time. Or thought I did. 

I very carefully (or so I thought) ensured that the date was in our convention not the US one. However, what I found was that instead of making the date 05/01/2015, I had done 05/02/2015, which would have been bad enough, but it was set in US mode and today's photos were 05/03/2015.

Rather than worry about having to explain to get the photo posted, I've chosen this instead. I think it's pretty good as a fall back. For those who are curious about what I did want to post:
a mallard on a rock
a mallard creating patterns
four karuhiruhi, and
who enjoys living by the lake

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.