Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Around the next corner...

This picture - and the story of its taking - sums up Blip for me, as I reflect on my fifth anniversary as part of this amazing community.

This far along, I was mixed about trying to capture a "special" shot to mark the day - I'll just look out five gold rings from my jewellery box, that'll do. But no - I started taking photographs to connect with nature, with wildness, so it had to be the choice for 1825. Beaches? Trees? I wasn't sure, but followed where my nose pointed me, along the coast at dawn. It always has to be bloomin' dawn doesn't it?!

The sunrise was lovely, the colours in the sky purple and blue, but it was all a bit "haven't-I-taken-this-picture-before?". Keep walking...it's so cold...I'm only going to end up with a beach horizon shot...AGAIN...I give up - I'll make something out of what I have when I get back to the computer...

So I turned round...and this is what greeted me. That fiery glow is the sunrise beaming through the entrance to the tunnel of trees at the turn of the path. There it was...my anniversary blip. What a gift.

There were other shots - of glowing grasses and geese flocking overhead - but I knew this was the shot for today. Because it sums up some of the photography truths I've learned through five years of taking a picture a day:

1. You never know what you might see next.
2. It's always - always - all about the light.

I'm excited about what's round the corner - for me as a photographer and for Joe and the wondrous Blip team as it enters this new era. So, let's embrace the light, together, hopeful and curious x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.