Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Four by Four

It's a special Blip anniversary for me today - why else would I get up with the sparrow burp, drive for miles and walk for ages in the dark to reach my favourite beach for sunrise? :)

It had to be Tyninghame, on this my fourth birthday on blip - coinciding with the 4th of January. I actually started on 1st Jan all the those years ago, but have some deliberate gaps*, so the celebration date has slipped.

So, sticking with the four theme, I created four sets of four rocks - one set in the foreground to represent the year just passed, the others further in the distance but still seen. Technically not the best picture I've ever taken, but it serves its purpose.

In thinking about what I wanted to do, I had no real plan - I knew it had to be Tyninghame, but the rest just evolved as I stepped out of the forest and onto the beach.

And in all of this, my beloved Knoydart and The Natural Change Foundation are ever present...

....it was thanks to my NC experiences I unlocked my love of nature photography;
...it was thanks to NC that I discovered how much I love the completely absorbing and connecting task of making land art; and
...it was thanks to NC that I met the ever-awesome Em - who introduced me to Tyninghame for the first time and to whom I'm ever-grateful x

Huge thanks to all at Blip Towers as ever - I realise what a tricky job it must be getting the balance right between us old-timers and generating a new audience. You do it brilliantly.

And thanks to all my fellow Blippers - especially subscribers. There is some incredible talent in this place - it's a privilege to share it with you all x





*The "blank" days are days when I was out on solo as part of Natural Change - a day spent alone, dawn til dusk, out in the wilds, in silence and with no technology. Momentous, powerful and beautiful things have happened on each of those days, but are held clearly and with love, without photographic evidence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.