Good advice

My first working day of 2015 today. It was good to be back.

Of course I could have done with another week of holidays but it was good to be back. It seemed a long time ago since I was there, what with my bung finger and all.

I biked to and from work. My legs felt a little empty so I didn't partake of further exercise.

But I have spent a couple of hours outside. I've painted over half of the outside of the side fence. My beans grow up the inside of the fence and eventually bloom and cascade to the outer. It's paint now or never.

When I say half, that's the first coat. Still the rest of the fence to do, plus the gate and a second coat.

The front garden has also had a soaking. It's so hot and everything looks parched quickly. The Roma garden at the back it still to be watered.

The lovely sign is at my front door, a gift from dear be@nz to remember my Mum. It's good advice.

I've long had a hankering to spend a night on the Main Divide (the spine of the South Island, New Zealand, where I live). I have a place in mind, Walker Pass in Arthurs Pass National Park.

It's a terrific place, full of presence and awe. Huge rock faces bent and distorted as the Australian and Pacific techtonic plates grind and occasionally slip against/past each other. Yep, it's the Alpine Fault.

I'm hatching a plan....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.