Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Mono Monday :: NEW :: MM49 - The New World

Here is my entry for this weeks Mono Monday Challenge hosted by Skeena

It is a picture of my New 3D jigsaw globe which I have received from an old friend for my Birthday just before Christmas. I was able to build it from 540 pieces in the one day. I have chosen to focus the picture on the 'New World' of the Americas and Caribbean. 

The New World is one of the names used for the Western Hemisphere, specifically the Americas (including nearby islands such as those of the Caribbean and Bermuda).

The term originated in the early 16th century after Europeans made landfall in what would later be called "the Americas" in the age of discovery, expanding the geographical horizon of classical geographers, who had thought of the world as consisting of AfricaEurope, and Asia, collectively now referred to as the Old World (aka Afro-Eurasia).
The term was first coined by Florentine explorer Amerigo Vespucci. The Americas were also referred to as the "fourth part of the world" - Wikipedia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.