PJG844

By PJG844

In a Garden Green

On a pretty non-eventful day the biggest excitement for me was looking out of my “study” window to see a flock of redwings, half a dozen blackbirds, several song thrushes and ….. a load of starlings. Grabbed my camera but daren't go outside because, if anything, the starlings would panic and everyone would fly away. So I attempted to photograph them through my window. Disappointingly (annoyingly) all of them were pretty poor, with the vast majority being wretched AVS's. So this is about the best out of a poor bunch, two redwings, the one on the right just grabbing a grub of some form when I took the picture.

I've said before that we get flocks of redwings in our garden, which surprises me. We have no flowers or berry producing bushes so the only thing I can think is that the lamb crap over the spring and summer has really encouraged various bugs, worms and grubs to proliferate. Which is nice.

The 6 blackbirds are there every day, 2 males, 2 females and 2 immature ones. Why are the young ones not called juvenile instead of immature? Is it because they like fart jokes or something?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.