Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

The Last One In The Shed

With the house pretty much packed up, Jack's been feeling a little bit anxious about the changes, so tonight we went for a bit of a jaunt down the road to check on the sheep next door (like any good Border Collie would do, right?).

As we passed my neighbour's woolshed, I noticed that as well as a few ewes left in the yards, there was a solitary lamb. As he got to the top step of the shearing ramp, with the view of Mount Herbert in the background, I thought there would be no better shot to signify the working nature of this valley I've called home for the last twelve years.

As I've been saying all week, it's going to be sad to leave such a wonderful community of people and this truly beautiful corner of New Zealand. What makes it easier is that I'm moving to somewhere, that although different, is as scenic and peaceful.

One other thing I've been musing this week ahead of Friday's move is whether I should change my journal's name. Horomaka (the maori name for Banks Peninsula) is obviously synonymous with my current location, something that is soon to change. Whilst I'll always be horomaka inside, maybe it's time for new name to reflect my new surroundings. What do we think Blippers?

One other thing I've been thinking on (and I'm sorry in advance for the whinge, but hey I am a pom originally) is that isn't it annoying that on this new PolaBlip we can't change the thumbnail? This image is a perfect example of my frustration - here I am composing an off-centre subject and yet the dirty old thumbnail does nothing for the image. I hope it gets sorted as this sort of thing really rips my nighty, as they say. Grrrrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.