Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Frozen Footsteps

Dear Diary,

Below zero F. this morning and when I went out to fill the bird feeders I saw these little footsteps in the snow covered seed container.  I've been thinking a lot about China since my Sunday post and this sight made me remember that if I were still teaching art this is the time of the year that I would begin my Chinese brush painting/calligraphy unit.

The children were fascinated with the idea of the characters representing "things" and not letters.  I told them that according to legend, Chinese writing was invented by Cangjie, a minister of the mythical Yellow Emperor.  He had been inspired by the marks that bird's feet made in the snow...like these.

When my friend K visits, I taught with her for nearly 30 years, we always catch ourselves still thinking about lesson plans...especially when we are at an art museum.  Once a teacher, always a teacher I suppose. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.