Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Frozen Landscape

Dear Diary,

The storm on Sunday left a thin coating of ice.  Then the high winds seemed to polish it to a glossy, satin-like surface.  The effect was quite lovely by daylight but at night, with a near full moon shining on it, it was truly magical.

Another zero degree morning and the whole world around here is frozen solid and I am so grateful for my warm and cozy home.  D and I braved the winds and frigid temperatures yesterday to go out to lunch.  She is the lovely lady who made my red mittens for me.  She seemed completely non-pulsed by the weather.  "This is Maine and it is January.  I've seen far worse."

She's right about that.  The first winter I was here the temperature dipped to -25 degrees F. on a couple of occasions.  This too shall pass...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.