Three Birds and Three Squirrels

Dear Diary,

The feeding station on my back porch has been very busy since the cold weather set in.  I decided to do a collage of my visitors because I just couldn't settle on one.  Plus, I really wanted to compare Gaylord, bathed in warn early morning light, with Squirrel Nutkin, the Sumo wrestler-like squirrel.  He is getting so fat his tummy is hanging over the seed bowl!  I could always tell them apart because Gaylord's tail is far fluffier.  Now,the beefy boy, Squirrel Nutkin, is easy to spot.  Fiona stops by late in the afternoon even though the flying squirrels have been evicted from the attic.  Not sure where they have re-located, probably the barn.

Emerson sure enjoys sitting at the door watching the antics on the back porch.  My former cat, Purrcilla, tried to jump through the glass to get them but Emerson sits placidly just enjoying the show.  Animals have personalities, like people.  Last night on PBS I watched a special on cross specie animal friendships.  It was fascinating to see the compassion animals can have for those "not like themselves".  It's a pity the human animal species cannot show the same compassion.  It really makes me wonder at times who is more "evolved".

Greg will be here this morning, fingers crossed, to put in the new cellar stairs.  I can't wait!  Living in a house built in 1851 has had some challenges and those nasty, steep and dangerous stairs were one of them.  Hopefully, by tomorrow I will have new safe ones!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.