After Christmas Crafts

Dear Diary,

The Feast Day of Epiphany.  I've finally finished my after Christmas crafting projects.  Each year I take all the lovely cards I receive and make them into package tags by cutting out parts of them and adding string.  It is a great way to recycle the cards and they make really wonderful tags.  If they have writing on the back I simply glue the cutouts to card stock and re-cut them.

The other thing I do in January is make Kirigami boxes out of the old calendar. Kirigami is a form of Japanese paper folding that involves cutting, unlike Origami which doesn't.  I use to make these with my students years ago and they loved making "nesting" boxes...each one getting progressively smaller and fitting inside another.  They are great for little gifts.  The lovely designs require no wrapping.

January is a time I seem to get quite "crafty".  Maybe it's because I stay in  more because of the weather.  I don't use my studio in the winter because of the cost of heating it so my crafting is done on the dining room table in front of the wood stove!  Quite cozy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.