CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Squirrel hanging out at the cabin feeder

I am not a great lover of squirrels although I can't help but admire them sometimes.  When I had finished my meeting with the mayor I discovered this squirrel having a snack.  These feeders are supposed to be squirrel -proof but they still manage to stick their tongues into the small openings and by hanging down from the cabin they slowly get some sunflower seeds.  I don't often see them actually hanging down from the bracket like this.

Usually when I open the door they will start to run away across the cabin roof, because I make lots of noise by shouting and wave my arms in sudden motions to try and shoo them away.   Today I actually wanted the squirrel to stay so I could blip it, and it just raised an eye at me and carried on regardless.

There seems to be a large squadron of squirrels dancing around the bare branches of the big sycamore and ash trees at the moment.  Once they get breeding soon it could get quite crowded. But I think the cats will then start to have a say, because the squirrels definitely are wary of them. Lets hope for some equilibrium in the natural order of the garden wildlife.  As long as the birds survive I don't mind too much. Not really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.