CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The oldest Saxon stone in Edgeworth church

After my regular trip to the farmshop this lunchtime to get some of their excellent fresh free range eggs I decided to go for a slow cruise around some of the back roads on the top of the Cotswold plateau.  The sun had come out to play after a terribly stormy and rain filled night which lasted until mid-morning.

I drove from Bisley to the hamlet of Througham, missing Througham Slad, and then on to The Camp, a small community at an ancient cross roads.  The site has probably been settled since the Romans established a small camp there around the second century AD.  I stopped at the site of the camp, where there are some small mounds close by a field and farm, and saw a few cattle who looked good in the sunshine.  I had it in mind to look for a scene for the 'derelict Thursday' challenge but nothing suitable appeared.  In this part of the Cotswolds there is a lot of money and dereliction is likely to be frowned upon.

I carried on northwards and headed for the village of Edgeworth which I knew would be a lovely spot to visit on such a day.  I drove to the remote church next to the very stately manor house, and chatted to a man pruning a medlar tree.  I found the church was open and popped inside to the enjoy its quiet atmosphere.

In the porch entrance I found this old Saxon stone placed in the small window alcove.  Apparently 'this fragment of stonework on the west window sill is Saxon, with carved interlace with a two-strand weave, originally perhaps part of a cross or gravestone.  Similar fragments survive at nearby Bisley.'  All that survives of the Saxon church are the walls and north doorway at the western end of the present nave.

The church was modernised at different periods and the earliest recorded incumbent was John Maunsell, who was in place from 1271 to 1303.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.